DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks. Just started to plan for my 1993 MR2 conversion. I'm a Toyota engineer full time working on their fuel cell semi's so a BEV seems comparably simpler.

Where I stand: I have an MR2 donor with good body and no rust. It came stock with the 3SGTE, so the trans and CVs should be able to handle some extra immediate torque. I like the idea of keeping the stock transmission because shifting is fun.

With a little searching I came across the EV west MR2 conversion kit here but I don't love everything about it.

Right off the bat here's my initial feelings:

Pros:
Comes with lots of necessary components that match together well
Trans adapter plate fits with my existing hardware
Professional support from EV west for integration

Cons:
Not incredibly powerful motor
Seems to be a very high markup for parts compared with other sites

So here are my current questions:
1. Does anyone have experience with this kit? Do you like it?
2. How do yall like the HPEVS AC50? I don't need much power but it would be nice to spin the wheels every once in a while. I doubt it will beat my roommate's kitted out MR2 turbo in a 1/4 mile, but that doesn't mean I wont try.
3. Any experience working with EV west? How is their customer support?
4. Has anyone registered an EV conversion in Michigan? I have seen some real shitboxes on the roads so I don't expect troubles. But I dont want to get 6 months into the build only to find out I cant drive it to work.
5. The trans adapter plate sold by EV west seems like it has compatibility with several 'C Face' style motors. Is this an industry standard connection method? And does this mean that all primary motor support will come from the transmission as in no extra mounts needed?

Thanks in advance for all the help. This is a long term project so the first few months will be all just planning (and maybe painting the car)

·
Registered
7,950 Posts