DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a novice at this game who needs some assistance. I converted a Ford Ranger to electric 12 years ago using a ElCon PFC 3000 (with a custom charge program) and MiniBMS and "Lithium Storage" batteries puchased as a package from Lithium Storage.

I have had no issues until now. The charger will not activate in spite of the pack low charge state. In the past all I had to do was connect the charger after turning off the ignition key. I have checked connections; but, don't know how to trouble shoot the system. It would seem that there might be some way "force" the charger into a cycle

Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
1,148 Posts
I converted a Ford Ranger to electric 12 years ago using a ElCon PFC 3000... I have had no issues until now. The charger will not activate in spite of the pack low charge state.
I don't think that Elcons have been around for 12 years, but if the Elcon is old (say over 5 years), then the usual mechanism of the MOSFET protection capacitor going high internal resistance with age may have kicked in. The capacitor that they use is longer life than the cheapest option (it is rated for 105°C), but in my opinion it should really be a longer life part. Of course, that would add a dollar or two to the cost of manufacture.

Do the LEDs still come on? There is the red/green LED, but sometimes you can also (or instead) see the red LED from inside shining through the yellow sticker. Though I'm unsure how that works with a 3 kW charger, which has two 1500 W chargers in one box.