DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am building a Kart for my kids from scratch and purchased several separate kits online and spliced them all together. I took a welding course and this is my first project, however in hindsight I should have taken an electronics course instead because I am having issues. The kart has large tires and was built for two small girls to drive around in the back yard with their neighborhood friends (all under 10yoa). There is no incline, just flat surface. Not looking for speed, just torque to move them around. I went with an 1800w 48volt kit, and while on jack stands it screams like a banshee, with a load (cart (125lbs) on the ground and me (175lbs) in it) it barely moves. I tested the load weight volts and it barely dropped so I know the packs are good. If I mash the accelerator and "Fred Flintstone" it I can get it rolling. I have come to the realization that it is just under powered. So my question is, which of the below is my best option going forward? Back sprocket is 41t and front is 10t, which I would like to keep.

1. get a second identical motor and controller and attach them to the one battery pack and throttle. I can easily have both chains running to the same solid axle. I have heard a lot of issues with syncing, and one motor leading due to factory quality control so they are not exactly the same motors.

2. upgrade to a single 3000 watt 72 volt motor and controller (will this have enough torque to move 500 lbs comfortably)

3. while less desirable due to noise, switch to a gas engine. This would be the last resort as I really want an electric motor, but if that is what is recommended then so be it.

4. A suggestion that I haven't thought of that is within reason for a weekend warrior.

Attachments

·
Registered
767 Posts