DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Converted an old lead sled..... it came with a 1990s vintage 9" GE 21Hp motor (5BT1346B50 Series) with a Auburn Scientific 700 amp Grizzly controller. Conversion brings in 43 CALB 100AH LiFePO4 watched over by Orion BMS. Vehicle weight is at 2500 pounds.

Car runs great in the flats but limiting myself to 2C current draw.... I can only get to 25MPH when climbing 500 ft over a steep 1 mile (10% grade). Drawing 200 amps continuous for the 3 minute climb raises average cell temps about 2 degrees C.

I'm a newbie to DC motor torque curves...see attached. Should I increase current to 3C or 4C for this limited 2-3 minute duration? I have not found any posts talking about current draw when climbing a hill?

Or is this "old GE motor" tired and needs to be replaced? Would a HPEVS AC-51 provide me better performance in this hill climb challenge?

Thanks for helping in my education....

Attachments

·
Registered
2,155 Posts
not the expert but 200 amps looks like ~ 20 ft lbs on that graph, which isn't really much at all. What is wrong with 700 amps? You can back it off if the motor gets hot. I would keep an eye on battery amps too, those are only "rated" for 1000 amps for 10 seconds. I mean if all your connections are beefy then you have surplus power exactly for things like getting up to speed or climbing the occasional hill.

force required is: 10% grade=5.24 degrees. sin(5.24)=0.1, stationary force needed = 2500(you included?) * .1 = 250 pounds.

So assuming you went with the miata, ~4.0 rearend, 3.163 1st, lets say 12" radius tires(one foot), is about a 12.5:1 ratio, which is also the ratio between 20 ft lbs and 250 ft lbs.

I don't see evidence that the motor is "tired". batteries might be struggling, or something else. Does the pack voltage sag a lot?