DIY Electric Car Forums banner

Can 32 V @ 500 A DC be converted to 72 V DC effectively?

• Yes - for sure no problem!

Votes: 2 66.7%
  • Yes - but doing so is pointless do to physics of electricity

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No idea

Votes: 1 33.3%
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,

I am not an engineer and still an amateur at electronics in general. I am trying very hard to catch up, so please excuse any forms of ignorance.

The point of this generator is to power my motor and charge the batteries while I drive. I am still working out how to connect it ( any advice appreciated) but this topic has to do specifically with upconverting the generators motor output to be effective for my purpose. It will in essence be a series hybrid while the generator is hooked up. ( Only for a few months until I can upgrade my batteries to lithium)

The 30 volts is DC (corrections 30 volts not 32 as the title says).

I am assuming that at 30V 500amps the current isn't going to be very usable by the controller; nor will it charge the batteries. If this isn't the case and it can still be an effective option please let me know.

I am trying to use a motor I have that is 15kw (30V @ 500amps).

My question is, can I convert it to 72 Volts? Or will it suffer too much loss at these amps?

If its possible I would appreciate any guidance. Building something is perfectly doable if I can find a decent schematic.

Thanks

G

·
What are you using as a 32 volt DC generator? At what speed is the generator putting out 32 volts and 500 amps?

Pete :)

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Jack & Heintz G32 Aircraft DC Generator

Believed to be a starting unit. Labeled "For Ground Power Use Only"
Appears to be refurbished and not used since
Has attached tag from "Sacramento ALC - Condition A"

Nameplate Badge reads:
30 Volts
500 Amps
4000-8000 RPM
G32-3
Opps its 30 volts.

G

·