DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,
I am new at this field of EV,I have a background in RC airplanes if that helps :)
The RC field tend to use very bleeding edge technolgies(like LiPo and Brushless motors) before they were wildly used everywhere else :)

I found this 7KW peak,1.8Kg,180RPM/V Brushless DC Motor it cost 99$! (if you leave the page open for a while it will offer you for 96$ :) (video)

also there is a 300$ motor,2.5Kg,150RPM/V which has about 20HP!(video)

My idea is to do a conversion with 2 of the smaller engines providing 15-20HP,i saw some conversions(Geo Metro,VW Beetle) done using a 50Kg 20HP forklift engine so i guess this pair of engines(weighting only 3.6kg!) can power a light car.

My questions are:
1.Is this possible?are this engines going to be strong enough to power a EV,15-20HP for 200$ sounds really cheap am i missing something? :)

also can some one give me a estimate of how much power(HP/KW) i need to move a car at X speed of W weight?
just simple function(a estimate of course) that given a standard Drag coefficent(let say 0.38 like a smart ForTwo) i put the weight and speed and get the amount of HP/KW i need :)

·
Registered
7,791 Posts
Hi,
I am new at this field of EV,I have a background in RC airplanes if that helps :)
The RC field tend to use very bleeding edge technolgies(like LiPo and Brushless motors) before they were wildly used everywhere else :)

I found this 7KW peak,1.8Kg,180RPM/V Brushless DC Motor it cost 99$! (if you leave the page open for a while it will offer you for 96$ :) (video)

also there is a 300$ motor,2.5Kg,150RPM/V which has about 20HP!(video)

My idea is to do a conversion with 2 of the smaller engines providing 15-20HP,i saw some conversions(Geo Metro,VW Beetle) done using a 50Kg 20HP forklift engine so i guess this pair of engines(weighting only 3.6kg!) can power a light car.

My questions are: