DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody,
Saying that I’m new to EV would be a total understatement. I’ll say for the record that I have very little clue what I’m talking about and don’t wish to offend with my utter ignorance!

But! I have been a petrol head for longer than I can remember, built and raced a number of high performance turbo ICE’s in a number of UK track championships. I have been looking into the possibility of EV performance vehicle for a while. I have read through a number of threads and builds on this fine forum and wondered if anybody can provide me with an answer to some questions.

1) Is there an electric motor that will provide me with an equivalent of 350hp/300ftlb of torque from a ICE? Either on its own or in series?
2) What would the power requirement for said motor be at?
3) If connected to a 5 speed manual clutched transmission how would it deal with things like shock loading or clutch kicking (IE: Raising the revs to a higher RPM than the relative wheel speed and “popping” the clutch to induce wheel spin)
4) How would it deal with ‘pumping’ of the throttle
5) What are EV motors like when being driven hard?
6) If said vehicle was an electric hybrid that used a small, efficient low hp engine to turn a generator. What sort of generator could i use and what power would it need to generate to run said engine?

Sorry for my first post basically being a load of questions, but i guess we all have to start somewhere!

Cheers

Chris
(from London)

·
Registered
7,829 Posts
Hi Chris,

1) Is there an electric motor that will provide me with an equivalent of 350hp/300ftlb of torque from a ICE? Either on its own or in series?
Yes and yes.

2) What would the power requirement for said motor be at?
About 300 to 350 kW.