DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 83 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm from the middle of Europe, from Germany and I'm glad to have found this forum. Full-time I was self-employed for almost 10 years and built recumbents. Meanwhile I work as a "normal" mechanical engineer in the industry.

Now I want to realize a long-cherished dream and build my own electric car. The last few years I only built combustion engines. I'm more fun for that because I do not drive 5000km a year.

Base: Polo 2F built in 1991
Buget: about 15000 €
Target: under 6seconds from 0 to 100km / h, over 250km range

Currently I own two VW Polo 86C with 89hp ("Genesis" Edition with 1.3l DIY Engine runs with MegaSquirt) and 150hp (1.4l Turbo). The car with 150hp was rebuilt from scratch. All sealants, insulation and paint were removed (over 45kg!), All rust removed and repainted.

The attachments such as doors and bonnet are replaced by GRP (own CFRP parts are currently too expensive for me, because I have to build a separate mold for each part). This reduces the weight by another 50kg. In addition, the sides and rear windows are replaced by plastic. The entire interior is removed, the dashboard of the previous model used (lighter), as well as a 6kg CFK / Aramid bucket seat installed. Everything is removed which is not absolutely necessary and light aluminum rims of the VW Lupo 3l used. So I reach about 450kg without engine.