DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Members!
This is Sarit from India. I am working on design an electric car that can adapt to climate change. This is a project out of my passion for innovation, relying on my engineering experiences. I need technical guidance in detail design of a prototype.

Let me introduce first. I am a Civil Engineering graduate, having two Masters in Environmental Science (one from University of New Orleans, NO, LA) and currently pursuing my Ph.D. in Hydrometeorology (Climate Science) at IIT Kharagpur (one of the top technical institutes in India). I also have one year professional experience in Industrial design. And I love to create creative solutions for sustainable future development.

As a researcher in climate science, I can foresee higher intensity/frequency in climate related disasters, flood, landslides etc. in coming years. I also read a lot on development of various green technologies, including electric car development. In my vision, we urgently need to design a car that should rely on on-board charging from renewable energy and have features that save passengers from any sort of climate disasters.

So, such car has to be little more than a conventional electric car. I named it "Car+". A set of +ve charges (features) will allow it to run anytime, anywhere. The critical features are listed below:

+1> On-board charging system using all sorts of renewable energy sources (solar/wind/rain/lightning), even waste heat of tailpipe exhaust from IC engines

+2> 4x4 wheel drive-by-wire

+3> Expandable in both length and width-wise using air-filled struts

+4> Capable of float and fly using balloon/rotors in case of emergency only

+5> Ultra-low turning radius

+6> Head-to-toe panoramic dashboard

Of course, the prototype of such a special vehicle may not be economically feasible, rather the innovations behind its features can be patented to get other cars retrofitted with.