DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello, i have been contemplating making my own controller for a while now but i dont have any experience in complicated cuircits...ect, only basic wiring stuff like cars 12v system. i have some knowledge of electrical devices, like i know what a resistor does, and a diode, and capacitor but every time i read a post about building a controller i find it hard to keep up with them. i was wondering if someone would be kind enough to start me off maybe by explaining the basics of how a dc controller works, like what each( general) part does in the controller. if you guys think this would be very hard to build for me at my electronic knowledge level, just let me know. but i am very interested in learning how to do this.

i need(want) a 144+ 500amp controller for my current ev that has a 72v 500A controller, i am willing to build a smaller 72v 80A controller to start off( if you guys think it would be worth it) and maybe, just maybe if i get good enough (LOL) someday build a high power controller, but thats later....

thanks

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yea, i looked them up a few times but they seem to just be selling a kit for 600$ that has directions to put together. if i could buy their items list, and make my own that would be better

·
Registered
224 Posts
I have to believe that Pauls DIY controller kit would be your best bet, also. You would get everything needed, AND, have the tech support just a phone call away.

Hard to beat that. Just read the Logisystem threads, to get an eye opener. Just my 2 cents worth.

·
Admin: 'one of many'
4,838 Posts
My plan is to buy the P&S circuit boards and the programmed chip and then source the rest of the stuff myself. That saves a lot of shipping of parts to the UK that I can get locally.