DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone,

I have been given a couple of electric motors, an hydraulic pump and a contactor. This stuff is used on hydraulic tail lifts on trucks. I'm planning on using them on a kart for my ealdest kid and the bigger one on a motorcycle or moped(what ever possible). I do have some questions though as I am new to the the world of EV's.

1) Can somebody tell me what kind of motors these are (series/ PM or whatever...?) by looking at de specs?

2) Is it possible to up the voltage (ex. de 3 kw 24V to 48V)? If so what steps to take?

3) Both motors turn clockwise, if I cut the Hydraulic pump an inch or so, I can get both shafts to stick out en add a sprocket(cut one down to housing size of course), can I use the pump without the oil or do you think the shafts will eventually wear down?

Thanks for any remark,
David

·
Registered
7,837 Posts
Hi everyone,

I have been given a couple of electric motors, an hydraulic pump and a contactor. This stuff is used on hydraulic tail lifts on trucks. I'm planning on using them on a kart for my ealdest kid and the bigger one on a motorcycle or moped(what ever possible). I do have some questions though as I am new to the the world of EV's.

1) Can somebody tell me what kind of motors these are (series/ PM or whatever...?) by looking at de specs?
Hi David,

Due to the fact that they have fixing screws at 90° around the middle of the frame, I'm guessing they are wound field motors, and almost certainly series motors.

2) Is it possible to up the voltage (ex. de 3 kw 24V to 48V)? If so what steps to take?
Sure. But you run the risk of burning the comm and brushes and breaking mechanical stuff unless you have a current limiting speed controller. And on the other end of the acceleration sequence, the higher voltage may cause overspeed, especially if lightly loaded.