DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. Recently I’ve gotten the idea to make a electric car, a small one. Since I have no experience with curvy shapes I decided to do a 1980’s Lamborghini style car, you know the really angular ones with sharp edges? With the flip-up lights? Anyway, as this idea got stuck in my head a few questions passed my mind.

1. How do I increase an electrical motors rpm?
I have a relatively old electric toy car which uses a 12V motor, the other specifications I am unsure of. However, the car is really slow, it can reach a maximum speed of 5mph. So my question is, how do increase the rpm of this engine to make me come up in at least 20mph? (It’s a wooden car so it’s relatively light).

2. How large should my wheels be?
My car is roughly 1 meter wide and 2 meters long (sorry for non-imperial), I’m unsure of what type of and how large wheels to use. The current old electric kids car uses plastic wheels which obviously is nothing I’m fond of, I remember that they were really annoying to drive with.

I’m fifteen and this is a project with my dad so I decided to ask you guys since this seems like the perfect forum. Thanks in advance.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
4,796 Posts
The "Help Desk" section is for help with the forum; the rest of the forum is about building DIY EVs. If you post this is a more suitable section, you'll probably get more help - I would suggest "All EV Conversions and Builds" or perhaps "Non Road Going Vehicles".

·
Administrator
6,121 Posts
Hi Spruce
I have moved your thread

How to increase a motor's rpm? - increase the voltage!

BUT you will need to do a bit of dismantling - wiring
Your motor will have a controller that will feed the motor - the controller is normally the limiting factor for how much voltage

You CAN just try feeding it 24v - but there is a good chance that will simply let the magic smoke out

·
Registered
4,796 Posts