DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks,

I'm new to this, and trying to get started on an EV conversion. I'm looking around for a donor car, and I'm having trouble finding cars on craigslist that fit what I'm looking for- so I was hoping for some wisdom on locating a donor.

I don't have a specific car in mind; I was thinking about a small, front engine/rear wheel drive sports car, like a miata, porsche (924,944,928...), datsun ***Z, etc. I didn't want to pay more than around $2000-$2500, so I was hoping for advice on finding cars with blown engines- but otherwise great shape.

On the other hand, if you started with a fully operating car, did you sell the ICE? how much trouble was it to find a buyer, and roughly how much did you recoup?

I'm in Tucson, AZ if that affects anything.

·
Registered
1,025 Posts
1) Figure out a list of cars you would be willing to work with, considering everything from efficiency to battery carrying capacity to number of passengers and luggage space and what you are willing to be seen driving in.

2) Just be patient and watch craigslist and ebay for all nearby areas you are willing to travel to, and use good search terms (may take some expirementation) to weed out what you aren't interested in. Make sure to look in the auto parts section as well as the cars for sale. If you are in AZ you probably have your pick of good rust free bodies to work with.

3) Ask around at a few second string dealers to see if anybody took in a high mileage trade of a car you are interested in, before they wholesale it to russia or south america or wherever.

4) Ask your local wrecking yard/recycler if they have anything. A good chassis with a worn out drivetrain can end up in a wrecking yard if they bid on a lot of cars as sometimes happens and get one. Depending on the laws they may or may not be able to sell it whole, but you don't need the engine anyway right?