DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I have a lot of questions.. I checked the FAQ here and it doesn't really say much about getting started in this. Is it legal? Safe? What are the pros and cons? Can you totally remove the need for gas? Is electricity cheaper than running a car on gas? Any links or answers will be much appreciated.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I am also a newbie with not a large income. I read that it would be cheaper buying a electric car or truck that has already been converted would that be the cheapest way to go? The vehicle I am interested in is a Chevy S10 conversion. I have a question has anyone converted a Mazda B3000 to electric? I have a Mazda truck just wanted to know what are the guidelines when converting trucks?

·
Registered
173 Posts
I am also a newbie with not a large income. I read that it would be cheaper buying a electric car or truck that has already been converted would that be the cheapest way to go? The vehicle I am interested in is a Chevy S10 conversion. I have a question has anyone converted a Mazda B3000 to electric? I have a Mazda truck just wanted to know what are the guidelines when converting trucks?
That may not apply anymore, since we seem to be in an EV frenzy at the moment. I have been seeing used EV conversions go for "interesting" prices lately.

A S10 is a good candidate, simply because there are quite a few of them done before. They have kits complete with battery boxes for them.

·
Registered
96 Posts
In answer to your questions, yes an electric conversion is legal. Like any other vehicle on the road, there are certain requirements which must be met. Typically these include: headlights, taillights, brakelights, horn, turn signals, windshield wipers, seatbelts, etc. It's pretty much common sense stuff.