DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,900 Posts
Well you better be ringing up your republican congressmen and voice your support. Look, they've been forcasting $4 gas this spring already. Last time it hit that price the economy tanked, June 08. I am a contractor and when that happened companies backed out of their projects. Our business dropped by 30% the following year. The likelyhood of Obama getting elected I'm sure had something to do with that too. The government needs to do this to advance technology I think and bring prices down. My wife drives a Civic @ 32mpg. It's costing her 5 times what it costs me to drive my S10. That's BS!

·
Registered
4,302 Posts
Here's a better idea for the White House:

Stop spending money they don't have, and encourage Americans to come up with revolutionary innovations to help get us out of the mess our government has created.

·
Registered
780 Posts
Hi. Let's hope this thread doesn't go downhill too quickly. Personally, I don't see why the Gov should finance car company's ventures. Any other company that wants to introduce a new product either eats the upfront cost in hopes they'll sell lots or passes it to the buyer right away.

If I, as a consumer with no significant buying power, can buy a new 2011 car and convert it to electric for <$40K, why can't car companies do that for much less? They're jacking up the price knowing the Gov will cough up the difference in the name of "innovation". If the Gov wants to help, they should put every scientific facility we already own and pay for to work on new cells and then pass that on to US companies to produce.

JR

·
Registered
1,900 Posts