DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a 21 year old Uk
I was considering get an Electric car in 2018 as I have in 20?54 Corsa but I could wait 10 years for an electric car & buy a BMW Z4 & rum Z4 for ten years.

I was considering getting an electric car preferably Tesla 2 seater Roadster or 2 seater Car
Reason for an electric car as an approved Electrician I was considering installing solar panels on my house & using free electricity to use as fuel.

Any ideas would be great & should I have will power & wait a couple more years?

& what are the advantages & disadvantages, on having an electric car & using your own electricity for fuel?

I know how smooth they drive :)

·
Registered
1,664 Posts
As a 21 year old Uk
I was considering get an Electric car in 2018 as I have in 20?54 Corsa ....

& what are the advantages & disadvantages, on having an electric car & using your own electricity for fuel?
:)
Well, you will never need to stop at a petrol station !
....which is probably just as well since you wont have much spare cash after buying the tesla and installing enough solar to charge it with.
And , unless you intend to buy a big bunch of storage batteries, that Tesla will need to sit at home connected to the charger all day !
Dont get an electric car with the intention of saving money.

·
Administrator
6,120 Posts
Dont get an electric car with the intention of saving money.
That is true for a conversion -not for a new (or used) EV
Something like a Leaf can be a lot cheaper than an IC car and I suspect the new Roadster (when it comes) will be cheaper than a Porsche

·
Registered
1,664 Posts
That is true for a conversion -not for a new (or used) EV
Something like a Leaf can be a lot cheaper than an IC car and I suspect the new Roadster (when it comes) will be cheaper than a Porsche
:confused: Sure a Leaf may be cheaper than some ICEs..