DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll try to keep this as short as possible, but following the sticky's format here's some background for starters. I work as a commercial electrician in a state that doesn't really have any kind of ev community from what I can find. I have a solid understanding of electrical theory and safety from both my time in college working towards a physics degree, and my electrical apprenticeship. My experience working on cars is only slightly more than changing my oil, although over the last few months I've developed a burning passion for all things automotive. Doing my own maintenance just isn't enough for me (at least on the mechanically sound Corolla I drive now) anymore and I pretty much NEED a project, so I'm really not afraid to dive into anything at this point.

I want this project to accomplish two things. Firstly it needs to serve as a material hauling/utility vehicle for the ~100 acre (former) golf course my family has recently bought. My parents are planning a series of construction projects on parts of the property only accessible by cart path, and will be needing to transport several hundreds of pounds of lumber/building materials to and from various places on the property. For this purpose I'll try to set a modest goal of hauling around at the very least 500 lbs of material (+vehicle and two people) at 10-20mph for 2-3 hours of total drive time throughout the day. Being a golf course there are quite a few elevation changes, some very steep, but lets just say it needs to be able to handle a modest incline while under full load (without worrying about the batteries or controller blowing up obviously)