DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 98 Ranger 4x4. I am going to convert it to EV. I have some experience with electronics, and rebuilding motors and pumps for a tree nursury I worked for. I have contacted Wrightspeed, they aren't talking. I would like to replace the differentials with 40 pound motors like they talk about on their website. Anyone have a souce for those motors.
Thanks,
WW

·
Registered
1,317 Posts
I have a 98 Ranger 4x4. I am going to convert it to EV. I have some experience with electronics, and rebuilding motors and pumps for a tree nursury I worked for. I have contacted Wrightspeed, they aren't talking. I would like to replace the differentials with 40 pound motors like they talk about on their website. Anyone have a souce for those motors.
Thanks,
WW
I think Wrightspeed is going after OEM's I would be surprised if they replied at all, even to say they don't deal with individuals. I'd say for us DIYer's we're stuck with good old DC motors, or the very few some what low powered AC systems available. I don't think you could ever get your hands on the guts of a Tesla S or these wrightspeed motors.

·
Registered
325 Posts
You did send them the non-refundable $60k deposit before contacting them right?

Thanks,
WW

·
Registered
1,562 Posts
i'd just yank the ICE, use whatever motor you'd like. Same for batteries and controllers.

hub motors and the like are generally pricier and way more involved for the first try.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I think Wrightspeed is going after OEM's I would be surprised if they replied at all, even to say they don't deal with individuals. I'd say for us DIYer's we're stuck with good old DC motors, or the very few some what low powered AC systems available. I don't think you could ever get your hands on the guts of a Tesla S or these wrightspeed motors.