DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi.

As my subject indicates, I'm a newbie.

I would like to convert a vw bug to ev for my kids. I'm very technical in many areas, engineering, electronics, software etc. I have a couple of friends that are talent machinists and fabricators. We should be able to tackle this. I hope.

So for I get the feeling that getting a crashed ev like a leaf is the easiest place to start.

I would like to ramp up asap. Can you point me in the direction of any threads to help.

·
Registered
287 Posts
None in particular, just spend some time browsing all over this forum and YouTube.

The Nissan leaf actually probably wouldn't be the easiest, as much of the Leaf parts can't be easily reused (namely the BMS). The 'easiest' way to convert a car is to buy a kit motor like the hyper 9 and other parts made specifically for the conversion market, although this is a more expensive route generally.

·
Registered
339 Posts
A crashed EV is probably the cheapest way to go, as you can harvest a lot of useable stuff. Leaf motors can be repurposed with relative ease (on the electrical side at any rate) by getting a VCU from thunderstruck. You would have to do some digging about other parts that people have figured out how to use. The big ticket items your car will need are:

Battery
Motor
BMS
Charger

Does the bug have manual steering? If it used to have power steering, you will need to figure out how to handle that, and the brake booster - but enough bugs have been converted that I am sure all of that has been covered pretty well somewhere out there.