DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
I've been doing EV builds since 2015. This is my latest one. These scooters came with a 6 phase hub motor. Who made them is unknown, but they are well made and were designed in Japan. It's possibly the best hub motor ever made. These motors can run at well over 120v and don't suffer from significant iron losses at higher eRPM's. These are images of these motors on Zapino and RMartin scooters. They all came with this large controller that has dual 12 fet controllers inside it.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
I knew these motors could handle a lot more wattage than they were being used at originally. The dual 12 fet controllers were good for 1500 watts each for a total of 3000 watts. The technology was from 2008 or 2009 and controllers have improved a LOT in the past 11 or 12 years! All of this combined with 5 heavy SLA's made for tepid levels of performance on a scooter of this size. My Zap topped out at 47 mph and only got there down a long hill with the wind at my back. On level ground 40 mph was about it.

First thing I did was make a 16S, 40Ah LIPO pack for it so I could remove the stupid heavy SLA's that came in it. In removing those SLA's I saved about 100 pounds and had no reduction in capacity or range. I rode around on my LIPO pack for about 100 miles on the otherwise factory setup. This was to get to know the Zap scooter and to see if there were any other issues to deal with. It soon became apparent that barely getting to 40 on level ground would bore me so it was time to upgrade...a LOT!

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)