DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I am a graduate student at Oregon State University and as a project for a product commercialization class my group and I have picked the Zilla DC motor controller (a local product) to do a product viability analysis on. Part of the project includes getting customer or potential customer feedback. My fellow group members and I would be very grateful if you could answer some questions or provide us with feedback in any way on the Zilla motor controller box.

Just a note, nobody in the group actually has a ton of experience with the DC motor controller market for DIY electric cars. If anyone wants to fill us in on the market situation, along with where Zilla sits in this market, that would be awesome.

Focus questions:

What is the product worth to the customer?
Must have/nice to have?
Comparison to the competition - (dependability? durability? ease of use? Price?)
Anything else anybody would like to add.

Thank you for your time,

Michael

·
Registered
1,570 Posts
My suggestion as a background research would be to search the forum using "TESSARACT" as the search string and see all the data he has garnered for building his product. "major" works for motors, and "Lithumaniacs" works for other , say, interesting and highly dramatic data regarding racing.

Use that data to begin your actual research on zilla, as there would be no logical sense to re-invent the wheel.

·
Registered
1,956 Posts
Wow, what a great thread!

The need for controllers grows daily. I have a feeling Otmar has some 3000amp controllers in the works. Or maybe Evnetics will build the 'BigSol'?:eek:

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the replies, I will definitely be looking into the references.

Are there any customers out there itching to answer the questions I posted or talk about their Zilla?

·
Registered
3,218 Posts